Hearth Record

Back to Acids

JBL Inc. acids

1 report to CPSC, the latest made Sep 11, 2017. A report isn’t a recall.

Watch it to hear when CPSC publishes new reports about it. CPSC’s own search, on saferproducts.gov

Watch and the shortlist are kept with a free account, on every device. Your watch list. CPSC’s own search is on saferproducts.gov.

At a glance

From SaferProducts.gov, released Oct 25, 2026.

  • 1report to CPSC
  • Sep 11, 2017the latest report was made
  • Sep 11, 2017the earliest
  • 0with the company’s comments
Brand
JBL Inc.
Maker
JBI, Inc.Makers, importers or sellers, as the reports name them
Product
AcidsCPSC’s product type: Acids (code 936), in Home Maintenance and Structures: Household Chemicals, Paint, & Cleaning Products

By month

1 report from October 2016 to September 2017; the most in September 2017, 1.
The numbers, as a table
Reports to CPSC by the month each was made, newest first
MonthReports
September 20171

How badly anyone was hurt

  • Hospital admission 1 CPSC: Injury, Hospital Admission

As each report says it, in short words; CPSC’s own words are under each.

The reports, as CPSC published them

Reports people made to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. CPSC publishes each one after sending it to the company named, and doesn’t guarantee they’re accurate. A report isn’t a recall.

Each report is the words of the person who made it, as CPSC published them. The company’s comments, where CPSC published any, are set apart as the company’s own.

Source:

CPSC, SaferProducts.gov public database export. Released Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily.

  1. Hospital admission

    Made Sep 11, 2017, sent to the company Sep 19, 2017, published by CPSC Oct 10, 2017

    The product, in the report: Orange labeled bottle from JBI Inc. Address on bottle: JBI Inc. 76 Palmetto Hwy, Industrial Park, Timmonsville, SC 29161 Phone: (843)346-4996 UN# 1790

    The Carolinas Poison Center was contacted regarding a patient who was exposed to JBI Inc. (76 Palmetto Industrial Park, Timmonsville, SC 29161, P: (843)346-4996) “Dull Buster” Hydrofluoric acid wheel cleaning solution purchased one week prior from a local Car Quest. The specific hydrofluoric acid percentage is not listed on the bottle. A “warning UN # 1790” was listed on the bottle which corresponds to Hydrofluoric acid “with not more than 60 % hydrofluoric acid.” A specific MSDS sheet was delayed in availability (the company states a chemtrek phone number is present on the bottle, however, this number is not visible in any pictures of the labels sent to poison center). Also, the specific instructions present on the label do not appear to adequately capture the potential dangers of hydrofluoric acid exposure. They state that after skin exposure, one should “Flush with water. Remove contaminated clothing.” It does not state that skin/inhalation exposure can be potentially life threatening. It also does not state that care should be sought for inhalation/skin exposure. There are various potential therapeutic options that would be available such as the administration of calcium gluconate. Encouraging consumers to seek care could also ensure proper follow up with a hand surgeon when appropriate to prevent further morbidity. Also, the product lists “rubber gloves” as appropriate protection for the use of this product. Latex gloves would not be adequate and further guidance on appropriate protection is not listed. The patient in question was transported to a higher level of care and treated with invasive procedures that carry serious risks. The decision regarding transfer and to perform these procedures would have been better informed if the product were properly labeled. The Carolinas Poison Center discussed this case with the director of the UNC Burn Center as well as the North Carolina Department of Health and Human Services. All involved parties involved are in agreement that further action should be taken to prevent this from happening to future consumers.

    Where
    Unspecified: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Age 52, Male
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Unspecified
    As this report names them
    Brand JBL Inc., made or sold by JBI, Inc.
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Injury, Hospital Admission

CPSC’s disclaimer

Disclaimer: CPSC does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of the Publicly Available Consumer Product Safety Information Database on SaferProducts.gov, particularly with respect to information submitted by people outside of CPSC.

Source:

Word for word, from the disclaimer in CPSC’s export.

Sources

Sources
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, SaferProducts.gov public database export.

    Released Oct 25, 2026 and checked Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily. Public domain (U.S. Government work). CPSC asks to be credited, and that no endorsement be implied.

Source:

Reports of harm are from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), on SaferProducts.gov. CPSC does not endorse Hearth Record.

Back to Acids

How to read a record

Four things every record does, shown on an example record made up for this guide.

An example record, made up for this guide

An example nursing home

Made up for this guide: no real place is shown

Not fully inspected in over two years (CMS flag)

11 health citations at the latest inspection cycle

The state average is 14.3.

Source:

CMS, State and US Averages and Health Deficiencies. Released Oct 8, 2026. Updated monthly.

From the homeNone yet. Replies and paid listings aren’t open, and when they open they will sit here, below the record.

1 of 4

Every fact names its source.

Who published it, when, and how often it changes sit beside each fact, with a link to the agency’s own file.

Sign in

A free account keeps your watch list, shortlists, comparisons and saved searches on every device, and can email you when something you watch changes. Browsing never needs one.