Hearth Record

Back to Power saws

Harbor Freight power saws

4 reports to CPSC, the latest made Nov 30, 2023. A report isn’t a recall.

Watch it to hear when CPSC publishes new reports about it. CPSC’s own search, on saferproducts.gov

Watch and the shortlist are kept with a free account, on every device. Your watch list. CPSC’s own search is on saferproducts.gov.

At a glance

From SaferProducts.gov, released Oct 25, 2026.

  • 4reports to CPSC
  • Nov 30, 2023the latest report was made
  • Aug 3, 2015the earliest
  • 0with the company’s comments
Brand
Harbor Freight
Maker
Harbor Freight ToolsMakers, importers or sellers, as the reports name them
Product
Power sawsCPSC’s product type: Power Saws, Other or Not Specified (code 895), in Home Maintenance and Structures: Tools & Hardware
Other ways the reports write the brand (1)

“Harbor Freight Warrior”

By month

1 report from December 2022 to November 2023; the most in November 2023, 1. 3 earlier reports, since August 2015, are in the table.
The numbers, as a table
Reports to CPSC by the month each was made, newest first
MonthReports
November 20231
February 20191
July 20181
August 20151

How badly anyone was hurt

  • Hurt, no treatment 1 CPSC: Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received
  • No one hurt 3 CPSC: Incident, No Injury

As each report says it, in short words; CPSC’s own words are under each.

The reports, as CPSC published them

Reports people made to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. CPSC publishes each one after sending it to the company named, and doesn’t guarantee they’re accurate. A report isn’t a recall.

Each report is the words of the person who made it, as CPSC published them. The company’s comments, where CPSC published any, are set apart as the company’s own.

Source:

CPSC, SaferProducts.gov public database export. Released Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily.

  1. No one hurt

    Made Nov 30, 2023, sent to the company Dec 28, 2023, published by CPSC Jan 12, 2024

    The product, in the report: electric miter saw

    (10/30/2023) The consumer has a safety concern about the product. The blade guard on his miter saw broke. He is aware of a recall that has the same hazard, but when he contacted the firm, he was advised that the recall is only for the blade guard on replacement blades. His blade is not a replacement. He asked if he could purchase a blade guard and was told that they are saving them for people who have the replacement blades.

    Model
    61970
    Serial number
    370331848
    Bought from
    Harbor Freight, Missouri
    Bought
    Jul 3, 2021, about then
    Where
    Carthage, Missouri: Unspecified
    Who was involved
    Male
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Unspecified
    As this report names them
    Brand Harbor Freight, made or sold by Harbor Freight Tools
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Incident, No Injury
  2. No one hurt

    Made Feb 16, 2019, sent to the company Apr 3, 2019, published by CPSC Apr 17, 2019

    The product, in the report: Harbor Freight 43060 https://www.harborfreight.com/router-speed-control-43060.html

    I purchased a Harbor Freight router speed control (Item 43060). To verify that it was wired correctly, I plugged a [REDACTED] receptacle tester into the output receptacle (the plug-in location for the router). The tester reported an open neutral with the power switch in the “OFF” position. Further testing with a multimeter revealed that regardless of the switch location, the hot channel is never shut off (testing from hot to ground). Open of the router control confirmed my suspicions: The off switch is on the neutral side. The 15A fuse is the only wiring on the hot side of the circuit.

    Putting the off switch on the neutral side creates a potentially hazardous situation: Any connected device will appear to be off but will actually be powered. The neutral line will also become hot. This unusual and unsafe wiring arrangement is not disclosed in the included technical manual.

    Model
    43060
    Serial number
    36027502019
    Bought from
    Harbor Freight
    Bought
    Feb 16, 2019
    Where
    Milton, Florida: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Unspecified
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Self
    As this report names them
    Brand Harbor Freight, made or sold by Harbor Freight Tools
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Incident, No Injury
  3. No one hurt

    Made Jul 23, 2018, sent to the company Oct 24, 2018, published by CPSC Nov 7, 2018

    The product, in the report: Miter Saw

    Caller is reporting that while using the saw the plastic lower guard failed causing the blade to rip the plastic off exposing the blade. Fortunately he was not injured. He stated that he tried to contact the manufacturer but the office was not open at the time he will try again. He stated that he read online several reviews of incidents with this saw.

    Caller feels that there should be improvement on how the guard is made preventing this incident.

    Model
    61970
    Bought from
    Harbor Freight, Tennessee
    Bought
    Sep 9, 2017
    Where
    Chattanooga, Tennessee: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Age 38, Male
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Self
    As this report names them
    Brand Harbor Freight, made or sold by Harbor Freight Tools
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Incident, No Injury
  4. Hurt, no treatment

    Made Aug 3, 2015, sent to the company Aug 11, 2015, published by CPSC Aug 25, 2015

    The product, in the report: 4-1/2 in. 40 Grit Metal Cut-off Wheel 10 Pc Warrior - item#61195 Slice through ferrous metals and stainless steel with these metal cut-off wheels Description Make fast, clean cuts in ferrous metals and stainless steel with these abrasive cut-off wheels! Tough aluminum oxide abrasive is continuously exposed during use to maintain an aggressive cutting edge. Designed for use with your angle grinder or high speed cutter, these cut-off wheels are fully reinforced with fiberglass mesh for added safety and controlled performance. Tough aluminum oxide abrasive is continuously exposed during use to maintain an aggressive cutting edge. Fully reinforced with fiberglass mesh for added safety and controlled performance Specifications Name 4-1/2 in. 40 Grit Metal Cut-off Wheel 10 Pc SKU 61195 Brand Warrior Abrasive material Aluminum oxide Application Metal Diameter 4-1/2 in. Grit 40 Maximum speed (rpm) 13,300 RPM Quantity 10 Wheel thickness (in.) 1/16 in. Arbor size 7/8 in. Shipping Weight 0.75 lb.

    4.5 inch cut off wheels sold by Harbor Freight are rated for 13500 RPM, but even with a 11000 RPM motor (theirs, #69645) they fly apart. One cut my face, another cut my abdomen after cutting through my shirt, a third hit my son about five feet away but did not cause any damage. I reported this to Harbor Freight and have received no acknowledgement, concern, offer to replace, or any other response. Other wheels have delaminated without flying apart. This product is commonly known to be hazardous to use, but this specific product goes beyond that.

    Model
    #61195
    UPC
    unknown
    Serial number
    unknown
    Bought from
    Harbor Freight store #00036
    Bought
    Jul 25, 2015, about then
    Where
    Tucson, Arizona: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Age 68, Male
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Self
    As this report names them
    Brand Harbor Freight Warrior, made or sold by Harbor Freight Tools
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Injury, No First Aid or Medical Attention Received

CPSC’s disclaimer

Disclaimer: CPSC does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of the Publicly Available Consumer Product Safety Information Database on SaferProducts.gov, particularly with respect to information submitted by people outside of CPSC.

Source:

Word for word, from the disclaimer in CPSC’s export.

Sources

Sources
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, SaferProducts.gov public database export.

    Released Oct 25, 2026 and checked Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily. Public domain (U.S. Government work). CPSC asks to be credited, and that no endorsement be implied.

Source:

Reports of harm are from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), on SaferProducts.gov. CPSC does not endorse Hearth Record.

Back to Power saws

How to read a record

Four things every record does, shown on an example record made up for this guide.

An example record, made up for this guide

An example nursing home

Made up for this guide: no real place is shown

Not fully inspected in over two years (CMS flag)

11 health citations at the latest inspection cycle

The state average is 14.3.

Source:

CMS, State and US Averages and Health Deficiencies. Released Oct 8, 2026. Updated monthly.

From the homeNone yet. Replies and paid listings aren’t open, and when they open they will sit here, below the record.

1 of 4

Every fact names its source.

Who published it, when, and how often it changes sit beside each fact, with a link to the agency’s own file.

Sign in

A free account keeps your watch list, shortlists, comparisons and saved searches on every device, and can email you when something you watch changes. Browsing never needs one.