Eaton breaker panels, circuit breakers and fuses
5 reports to CPSC, the latest made Jan 23, 2026. A report isn’t a recall.
Watch and the shortlist are kept with a free account, on every device. Your watch list. CPSC’s own search is on saferproducts.gov.
At a glance
From SaferProducts.gov, released Oct 25, 2026.
- 5reports to CPSC
- Jan 23, 2026the latest report was made
- Nov 17, 2014the earliest
- 0with the company’s comments
- Brand
- Eaton
- Makers
- EATON CORPORATION and EatonMakers, importers or sellers, as the reports name them
- Product
- Breaker panels, circuit breakers and fusesIncluding GFCIsCPSC’s product type: Panelboards, Circuit Breakers, Gfci”s, or Fuses (code 4063), in Home Maintenance and Structures: Electrical Systems
Other ways the reports write the brand (1)
“Eaton (Cutler Hammer)”
By month
The numbers, as a table
| Month | Reports |
|---|---|
| January 2026 | 1 |
| November 2024 | 1 |
| September 2022 | 1 |
| August 2020 | 1 |
| November 2014 | 1 |
How badly anyone was hurt
- No one hurt 4 CPSC: Incident, No Injury
- No incident, no one hurt 1 CPSC: No Incident, No Injury
As each report says it, in short words; CPSC’s own words are under each.
The reports, as CPSC published them
Reports people made to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. CPSC publishes each one after sending it to the company named, and doesn’t guarantee they’re accurate. A report isn’t a recall.
Each report is the words of the person who made it, as CPSC published them. The company’s comments, where CPSC published any, are set apart as the company’s own.
CPSC, SaferProducts.gov public database export. Released Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily.
-
No one hurt Made Jan 23, 2026, sent to the company Jan 29, 2026, published by CPSC Feb 17, 2026
The product, in the report: Eaton combination AFCI breaker. Black bakelite or similar material with metal rivits. Two power lugs (neutral and load), and white pig tail.
Eaton AFCI 15 AMp breackers with arcing internal and loose components. Eaton BRCAFF115QN breaker tripped. Upon inspection arcing sounds (crackling and popping) heard within the breaker itself. Breaker replaced to resolve problem. Additional inspection of the breaker reveals rattling when lightly shaken. No external physical damage to breaker and no evidence of external arcing. The primary concern is the fact that an electrical component intended to serve as a safety device is itself producing electrical arc which is one of the primary hazards it is intended to prevent.
- Model
- BRCAF115QN GEN 4
- UPC
- NA
- Serial number
- 170214-0349293
- Where
- Frederick, Maryland: Home/
Apartment/ Condominium - Who was involved
- Age 63, Unspecified
- The reporter’s relation to them
- Self
- As this report names them
- Brand Eaton, made or sold by Eaton
- How badly, in CPSC’s words
- Incident, No Injury
-
No incident, no one hurt Made Nov 18, 2024, sent to the company Nov 29, 2024, published by CPSC Dec 13, 2024
The product, in the report: I thought I purchased a Cutler Hammer (made by Eaton) 2 pole 30 amp circuit from Lowes. When I went to install it, I discovered the circuit breaker was a 30 amp on one half and 50 amp on the other half. If this trips at 50 amps, the wiring could melt and cause a fire. No injuries occurred but a high likelihood exists if this problem is not reported and dealt with properly. The product installation was for the intended use. There is no such use case for a single 2 pole 30&50 amp combination circuit breaker and is likely a factory mistake. The sticker on the side of the breaker bears the model CHF250, which indicates a 2 pole 50 amp circuit breaker but one of physical toggles bears the number 30 and the other toggle bears the number 50.
I thought I purchased a Cutler Hammer 2 pole 30 amp circuit from Lowes. When I went to install it, I discovered the circuit breaker was a 30 amp on one half and 50 amp on the other half. If this trips at 50 amps, the wiring could melt and cause a fire. No injuries occurred but a high likelihood exists if this problem is not reported and dealt with properly. The product installation was for the intended use. There is no such use case for a single 2 pole 30&50 amp combination circuit breaker and is likely a factory mistake. The sticker on the side of the breaker bears the model CHF250, which indicates a 2 pole 50 amp circuit breaker but one of physical toggles bears the number 30 and the other toggle bears the number 50.
- Model
- CHF250
- UPC
- 7 86685 53217 2
- Serial number
- 23 04 25
- Bought from
- Lowes
- Bought
- Nov 17, 2024
- Where
- Lake St. Louis, Missouri: Home/
Apartment/ Condominium - Who was involved
- Age 55, Male
- The reporter’s relation to them
- Self
- As this report names them
- Brand Eaton (Cutler Hammer), made or sold by EATON CORPORATION
- How badly, in CPSC’s words
- No Incident, No Injury
-
No one hurt Made Sep 24, 2022, sent to the company Oct 3, 2022, published by CPSC Oct 18, 2022
The product, in the report: Eaton 240 V Circuit Breaker 60 Amp (I have pictures, but the website will not allow uploads)
We plugged our [REDACTED] into our 240 v power [REDACTED] charger, which had been installed by an electrician and permitted by the city. After charging for 3% the charging stopped. The circuit breaker appeared to have blown. When my electrician arrived to fix the issue he discovered that the circuit breaker had not blown but had actually caught fire and burned the fuse box. The electrician explained it should never happen and appears to be a defective product. He has seen numerous other Eaton circuit breakers fail, when used with electric vehicles, but this is his first experience with one causing a fire.
- Model
- BR260
- Where
- Tustin, California: Home/
Apartment/ Condominium - Who was involved
- Unknown
- The reporter’s relation to them
- Unspecified
- As this report names them
- Brand Eaton, made or sold by EATON CORPORATION
- How badly, in CPSC’s words
- Incident, No Injury
-
No one hurt Made Aug 14, 2020, sent to the company Aug 18, 2021, published by CPSC Sep 1, 2021
The product, in the report: Circuit breaker
Caller reported that the Circuit Breaker melted while charging an electric vehicle. He stated that it was installed in June and that it is not that old. He stated that he has used the unit everyday since it has been installed to charge the vehicle. He stated that he contacted the electrician that installed it about the incident.
The manufacturer was not contacted as yet. Caller feels that this breaker is a fire hazard and should be reported.
- Model
- BR260
- Where
- Novato, California: Home/
Apartment/ Condominium - Who was involved
- Male
- The reporter’s relation to them
- Unspecified
- As this report names them
- Brand Eaton, made or sold by Eaton
- How badly, in CPSC’s words
- Incident, No Injury
-
No one hurt Made Nov 17, 2014, sent to the company Nov 25, 2014, published by CPSC Dec 10, 2014
The product, in the report: Eaton Arc Fault Circuit Interruptor (AFCI) Model BRCAF 115 15 amp circuit breaker
I purchased a new home with an Eaton electrical service panel. It contains mandated arc-fault circuit breakers. The Eaton model is BRCAF 115. I am also an FCC licensed ham radio operator. When I transmit, the circuit breakers trip. They are aware of this defect, and are working with the American Radio Relay League, (arrl) to refine their product. These units will also trip if installed in areas near broadcast stations, and can be tripped by radio transmissions from cars. ( this last information derived from on-line blogs). I have contacted [REDACTED] on October 28th and he promised to send redesigned units that will not trip in the presence of radio frequency transmissions. So far I have not received any replacements.
- Model
- BRCAF 115
- Serial number
- 131209-0664592
- Where
- Elizabethtown, Pennsylvania: Home/
Apartment/ Condominium - Who was involved
- Male
- The reporter’s relation to them
- Self
- As this report names them
- Brand Eaton, made or sold by EATON CORPORATION
- How badly, in CPSC’s words
- Incident, No Injury
CPSC’s disclaimer
Disclaimer: CPSC does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of the Publicly Available Consumer Product Safety Information Database on SaferProducts.gov, particularly with respect to information submitted by people outside of CPSC.
Word for word, from the disclaimer in CPSC’s export.
Sources
Sources
-
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, SaferProducts.gov public database export.
Released Oct 25, 2026 and checked Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily. Public domain (U.S. Government work). CPSC asks to be credited, and that no endorsement be implied.
Reports of harm are from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), on SaferProducts.gov. CPSC does not endorse Hearth Record.