Hearth Record

Back to Glass bottles and jars, kind not given

Rubber maid glass bottles and jars, kind not given

2 reports to CPSC, the latest made May 14, 2021. A report isn’t a recall.

Watch it to hear when CPSC publishes new reports about it. CPSC’s own search, on saferproducts.gov

Watch and the shortlist are kept with a free account, on every device. Your watch list. CPSC’s own search is on saferproducts.gov.

At a glance

From SaferProducts.gov, released Oct 25, 2026.

  • 2reports to CPSC
  • May 14, 2021the latest report was made
  • Sep 17, 2012the earliest
  • 2with the company’s comments
Brand
Rubber maid
Maker
Newell Rubbermaid Inc.Makers, importers or sellers, as the reports name them
Product
Glass bottles and jars, kind not givenCPSC’s product type: Glass Bottles or Jars, Not Specified (code 1140), in Containers & Packaging: Glass
Other ways the reports write the brand (1)

“Rubbermaid”

By month

1 report from June 2020 to May 2021; the most in May 2021, 1. 1 earlier report, since September 2012, is in the table.
The numbers, as a table
Reports to CPSC by the month each was made, newest first
MonthReports
May 20211
September 20121

How badly anyone was hurt

  • First aid 1 CPSC: Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional
  • No one hurt 1 CPSC: Incident, No Injury

As each report says it, in short words; CPSC’s own words are under each.

The reports, as CPSC published them

Reports people made to the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission. CPSC publishes each one after sending it to the company named, and doesn’t guarantee they’re accurate. A report isn’t a recall.

Each report is the words of the person who made it, as CPSC published them. The company’s comments, where CPSC published any, are set apart as the company’s own.

Source:

CPSC, SaferProducts.gov public database export. Released Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily.

  1. First aid

    Made May 14, 2021, sent to the company May 18, 2021, published by CPSC Jun 2, 2021

    The product, in the report: Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids Glass Food storage and meal prep containers Model 1865887

    Purchased Rubbermaid Easy Find Lids Glass food storage and meal containers, Model 1865887, on Amazon in Apl 2017. States dishwasher, microwave safe. At 5:25pm on 5-12-2021 my 78-yr old mother took the large food container out of the refrigerator, her and I plated food & microwaved the plates, placing the room temperature container in the sink. Mom proceeded to rinse plates and the glass container with lukewarm tap water when without warning, there was an “explosion” in the sink. In what sounded like a M-80 going off inside the sink. The Rubbermaid glass container exploded into varying sized fragments, all lethally sharp and for no reason!!! My mom got cut on her fingers and hand!!! IF you go to Amazon.com and search “Rubbermaid Easy Find Lid glass Containers” you will see two sets are offered. If you click on the reviews, you will SEE and read HuNDREDS of reports of these glass containers exploding. In microwaves, in refrigerators, while being handled. Imagine a child microwaving a food container left in the refrigerator - then reaching into the microwave- at eye level- as most microwaves are mounted up high- and as the child- or senior citizen is lifting out the glass container, BOOM!!! Yes, that [how] it happens. No warning!!!

    Model
    1865887
    UPC
    N/a unk
    Serial number
    Unk
    Bought from
    Amazon.com
    Bought
    Apr 8, 2017
    Where
    Mount Laurel, New Jersey: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Age 78, Female
    The reporter’s relation to them
    My Parent
    As this report names them
    Brand Rubbermaid, made or sold by Newell Rubbermaid Inc.
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Injury, First Aid Received by Non-Medical Professional
  2. No one hurt

    Made Sep 17, 2012, sent to the company Oct 18, 2012, published by CPSC Nov 1, 2012

    The product, in the report: Glass container

    The caller stated that the glass container exploded in the microwave. The container was heating for about 1 min and 30 sec. After opening the microwave glass pieces projected from the microwave towards her. The labeling did not state that it should not be used in a microwave. There was no injury.

    9/9/12 The manufacturer was contacted through email but there was no response.

    8/17/12 She contacted the manufacturer and she was advised that there was no record of her email.

    The caller feels that this container is unsafe and should be reported.

    Model
    1787176
    Serial number
    unknown
    Bought from
    Costco
    Where
    Camas, Washington: Home/Apartment/Condominium
    Who was involved
    Female
    The reporter’s relation to them
    Unspecified
    As this report names them
    Brand Rubber maid, made or sold by Newell Rubbermaid Inc.
    How badly, in CPSC’s words
    Incident, No Injury

CPSC’s disclaimer

Disclaimer: CPSC does not guarantee the accuracy, completeness, or adequacy of the contents of the Publicly Available Consumer Product Safety Information Database on SaferProducts.gov, particularly with respect to information submitted by people outside of CPSC.

Source:

Word for word, from the disclaimer in CPSC’s export.

Sources

Sources
  • U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, SaferProducts.gov public database export.

    Released Oct 25, 2026 and checked Oct 25, 2026. Updated daily. Public domain (U.S. Government work). CPSC asks to be credited, and that no endorsement be implied.

Source:

Reports of harm are from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), on SaferProducts.gov. CPSC does not endorse Hearth Record.

Back to Glass bottles and jars, kind not given

How to read a record

Four things every record does, shown on an example record made up for this guide.

An example record, made up for this guide

An example nursing home

Made up for this guide: no real place is shown

Not fully inspected in over two years (CMS flag)

11 health citations at the latest inspection cycle

The state average is 14.3.

Source:

CMS, State and US Averages and Health Deficiencies. Released Oct 8, 2026. Updated monthly.

From the homeNone yet. Replies and paid listings aren’t open, and when they open they will sit here, below the record.

1 of 4

Every fact names its source.

Who published it, when, and how often it changes sit beside each fact, with a link to the agency’s own file.

Sign in

A free account keeps your watch list, shortlists, comparisons and saved searches on every device, and can email you when something you watch changes. Browsing never needs one.