Fuel, lighters and fireworks
578 reports to CPSC, 71 of them in the last 12 months. Gas cans, lighters, propane tanks, fireworks.
CPSC’s category: Fuel, Lighters and Fireworks. 16 product types, 319 brands.
Product types
The most reports in the last 12 months first; the number is those months’ reports, and the bar shows them.
- FireworksFireworks and Flares · 64 reports in all · 49 brands · latest Jul 28, 2026 18in 12 months
- Multi-purpose lighters, fuelIncluding micro-torchesLighters and Matches · 70 reports in all · 44 brands · latest Oct 6, 2026CPSC: Fuel Multi-purpose Lighters, Incl. Micro-torches 17in 12 months
- Gas cansFuel Storage · 153 reports in all · 36 brands · latest Oct 7, 2026CPSC: Gasoline Cans 8in 12 months
- Propane, LP or butane gas tanks or fittingsFuel Storage · 48 reports in all · 25 brands · latest Oct 7, 2026 7in 12 months
- Cigarette or pipe lightersLighters and Matches · 76 reports in all · 50 brands · latest Aug 12, 2026 6in 12 months
- Fuel oils, kind not givenFuels, Gas and Oils · 41 reports in all · 23 brands · latest Dec 6, 2025CPSC: Fuel Oils, Not Specified 3in 12 months
- Fuel-burning lighting equipmentFuels, Gas and Oils · 34 reports in all · 26 brands · latest Jul 26, 2026 3in 12 months
- Wooden matchesLighters and Matches · 21 reports in all · 9 brands · latest Apr 24, 2026 3in 12 months
- Lighter fluidsFuels, Gas and Oils · 5 reports in all · 4 brands · latest Oct 14, 2026 3in 12 months
- Lighters, kind not givenLighters and Matches · 30 reports in all · 18 brands · latest Apr 24, 2026CPSC: Lighters, Not Specified 1in 12 months
- Electric multi-purpose lightersLighters and Matches · 5 reports in all · 5 brands · latest Oct 16, 2026 1in 12 months
- Fuels for chafing dishes or fondue potsFuels, Gas and Oils · 4 reports in all · 4 brands · latest Nov 19, 2025 1in 12 months
Show all: 4 more product types, none in the last 12 months
- Fuel storage tanksFuel Storage · 16 reports in all · 15 brands · latest Mar 1, 2024 0in 12 months
- Multi-purpose lighters, kind not givenLighters and Matches · 7 reports in all · 7 brands · latest Jun 21, 2022CPSC: Multi-purpose Lighters, Not Specified 0in 12 months
- Matches, kind not givenLighters and Matches · 3 reports in all · 3 brands · latest Jul 26, 2018CPSC: Matches, Not Specified 0in 12 months
- MatchbooksLighters and Matches · 1 report in all · 1 brand · latest Sep 7, 2011 0in 12 months
Sources
-
U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission, SaferProducts.gov public database export.
Released Nov 5, 2026 and checked Nov 5, 2026. Updated daily. Public domain (U.S. Government work). CPSC asks to be credited, and that no endorsement be implied; CPSC does not guarantee the accuracy of reports submitted by people outside CPSC.
Source:
Reports of harm are from the U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission (CPSC), on SaferProducts.gov. CPSC does not endorse Hearth Record.